## NOTICE:

THIS PAGE AND THE FOLLOWING PAGE CONSTITUTES THE COMPLETE AGENDA FOR THIS MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE. THE COMMITTEE MAY CONSIDER AND ADOPT AMENDMENTS TO THE AGENDA DURING THE MEETING. ITEMS MAY BE ADDED TO THE AGENDA BY THE COMMITTEE DURING THE MEETING SUBJECT TO S.C. CODE SECTION 30-4-80(A). THE MATERIALS ON INDIVIDUAL ITEMS THAT FOLLOW THE AGENDA ARE SEPARATE FROM THE AGENDA. THE COMMITTEE MAY CONSIDER AND ADOPT AMENDMENTS TO THE INDIVIDUAL ITEMS LISTED ON THE AGENDA WHEN IT CONSIDERS THEM DURING THE MEETING.



Judicial and Public Safety Committee Meeting Agenda August 18, 2020, 2020 – 5:15 PM

Third Floor - 1930 University Parkway, Aiken, SC

COMMITTEE MEMBERS Honorable Chuck Smith, Chairman Honorable Sandy Haskell, Vice-Chairman Honorable Danny Feagin

- 1. Presentation from Aiken-Barnwell Mental Health Center.
- First Reading of an Ordinance Amending and Revising the Boundaries of the Fire Protection Service Areas Between the New Ellenton Volunteer Fire Department and the Windsor Volunteer Fire Department. (County Administrator) (Council Agenda p. 59-63)

(County Administrator) (Council Agenda p. 59-63)

(The fire protection service areas of the New Ellenton Volunteer Fire Department and the Windsor Volunteer Fire Department are amended and revised by adding two Aiken County Tax Parcels numbered 192-00-14-001 and 174-00-01-001, to the existing fire protection service area of the Windsor Volunteer Fire Department and removing that area from the existing fire protection service area of the New Ellenton Fire Department.)

3. Resolution to Authorize the County Administrator to Submit and Accept a Grant from the Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program FY 2020 Local Solicitation. (County Administrator) **(Council Agenda p. 42)** 

(*County Council authorizes the County Administrator to submit and accept a grant from the Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program FY 2020 Local Solicitation for law enforcement equipment.*)

4. Resolution to Award a Grant Not to Exceed \$50,000 from Capital Projects Sales Tax IV to the Monetta Community Volunteer Fire Department for the Development of an Additional Fire Station. (County Administrator) **(Council Agenda pp. 43-49)** 

(*County Council hereby awards a grant of \$50,000 to the Monetta Community Volunteer Fire Department to assist with the payoff of the loan the department acquired for the construction of a station that was completed in March of 2019.*)

5. Resolution to Award a Grant Not to Exceed \$50,000 from Capital Projects Sales Tax IV to the New Holland Volunteer Fire Department for the Development of an Additional Fire Station. (County Administrator) **(Council Agenda p. 50)** 

(*County Council hereby awards a grant of \$50,000 to the New Holland Volunteer Fire Department to assist with the construction of an additional station in its service area.*)

6. Resolution to Award a Grant Not to Exceed \$50,000 from Capital Projects Sales Tax IV to the Couchton Volunteer Fire Department for the Development of an Additional Fire Station. (County Administrator) (Council Agenda p. 51)

(*County Council hereby awards a grant of \$50,000 to the Couchton Volunteer Fire Department to assist with the construction of an additional station in its service area.*)

7. Resolution to Award a Grant Not to Exceed \$50,000 from Capital Projects Sales Tax IV to the Eureka Volunteer Fire Department for the Development of an Additional Fire Station. (County Administrator) **(Council Agenda p. 52)** 

(*County Council hereby awards a grant of \$50,000 to the Eureka Volunteer Fire Department to assist with the construction of an additional station in its service area.*)

8. Resolution to Award a Grant Not to Exceed \$50,000 from Capital Projects Sales Tax IV to the Hollow Creek Volunteer Fire Department for the Development of an Additional Fire Station. (County Administrator) **(Council Agenda p. 53)** 

(*County Council hereby awards a grant of \$50,000 to the Hollow Creek Volunteer Fire Department to assist with the construction of an additional station in its service area.*)

9. Approval of Committee Minutes from July 21, 2020.